The Alplaus Residents' Association

The Alplaus Residents' Association (ARA) is a group of citizens of the hamlet of Alplaus whose purpose is to serve the community. The ARA is open to all Alplaus residents, we hold our annual meeting the third Thursday of March each year. At this meeting new residents are introduced, events of the past year are reviewed, community concerns are discussed and officers are elected for the year. The ARA also acts as a point of contact between the hamlet and the Town of Glenville and Schenectady County.

    We sponsor 3 community events each year:
  1. The first is our annual July Fourth Celebration which includes a kids carnival, a block party, a parade, and a picnic.
  2. We also sponsor the Alplaus Run-Around, a 5 kilometer race around the hamlet that has been in existence for 35 years!
  3. During the holiday season we host a Holiday Kids Party with cookie decorating, crafts, and of course Santa!

To make these events happen we need your help! If you are interested in volunteering or becoming a member of the ARA Board please contact us at:
See you around Alplaus!

2017 Alplaus Citizens of the Year

Elizabeth Burke

Long-time resident Elizabeth Burke was named Alplaus Citizen of the Year for 2017! Through the years Elizabeth has been active in every community organization in Alplaus in one capacity or another. She helped start the Chili Challenge, is a founding member of the Alplaus Ladies Knitting Circle and is always available to lend a helping hand to her neighbors. Elizabeth brightens Alplaus every day with her smile and her sunny nature.

The ARA Board
President:Mike McHale
Past President:Andy Gilpin
Vice President:Tom Esmond
Treasurer:Vicki Watkins
Secretary:Kathy Boyle
Elected DirectorsAppointed Directors
Dan SalvinBob Winchester
Myrtle MajorMaurice "Bud" Watson
Gray Watkins
Jessica Evans
Kate McHale
Garry Polmateer